Population & Administrative Divisions


Fujian has a permanent population of over 38 million, with all the 56 ethnic groups scattering across the province. According to the 6th national census, the population of ethnic groups in Fujian amounts to 796,900, among whom 365,500 are ethnic SHE, accounting for 51.6% of the total in China. We have now 19 ethnic townships, one provincial level ethnic economic development zone and 576 ethnic villages. Under the jurisdiction of Fujian are now nine multi-district cities (Fuzhou, Xiamen, Zhangzhou, Quanzhou, Sanming, Putian, Nanping, Longyan, and Ningde) and Pingtan Comprehensive Pilot Zone. There are 85 counties (or cities at county level) and districts in total.

[ Web editor:Wu Jianhan, Robin Wang    Source:www.brics2017.org ]